Rainbow Pita Pizza (Or, Hot Lazy Days)

I don’t know about the rest of you, but when it’s hot in the summer, I get really lazy in the kitchen. Turning on the oven or slaving over a hot stove is certainly not an option on a lazy Saturday night. With the house to myself, and only one person to cook for, I often turn to quick and easy recipes, so I can spend less time prepping, cooking and cleaning up, and more time enjoying the perfect silence of an empty home.

Also, I get the pick of the TVs, which is always a fun bonus.

My Rainbow Pita Pizza is a really great (and fast) way to throw a delicious meal together with ingredients that you probably have in your fridge. The combination of the sweet strawberries, tomatoes and peppers, with the richness of the hummus and avocado, are balanced perfectly with the crunch of the toasted pita. Topping it all off with hot sauce and freshly cracked black pepper gives it a hit of heat and acid, making this pizza a perfect lazy day treat for lunch or dinner.

IMG_6031

Individual Rainbow Pita Pizza

  • 1 small whole-wheat or white pita
  • 1 heaping tbsp hummus, plain or flavoured (I used Fontaine Santé Sesame & Ginger)
  • 4 strawberries, sliced
  • 4 grape tomatoes, quartered
  • ¼ yellow bell pepper, diced
  • ¼ avocado, diced
  • 2 basil leaves, diced
  • Hot sauce (I used Frank’s Red Hot) and black pepper, to taste
  1. Spread hummus into an even layer on the pita. Sprinkle the veggies, strawberries and basil around the pita.
  2. Pop the pizza in a toaster oven for 4-5 minutes. I let the toaster oven heat up while I prepped the ingredients, so the pita cooks quickly and evenly. I just kept the toaster on toaster mode, since quite frankly, I don’t really know how the other functions work.
  3. Once it’s nice and crispy, take it out of the toaster oven and season it with black pepper. Add a dash (or several dashes) of hot sauce.

IMG_6066

Eat ‘em and weep, kiddies!

Leave a Reply

